Assault and Battery Defense Attorneys in Norwalk, CT
Experienced Norwalk Lawyers Defend Assault and Battery Charges
Assault and battery cases can be very complicated and may arise out of countless different situations. For example, you may be accused of assault if you simply drive toward someone and they believe you are going to hit them with your car. Additionally, serious assault charges often stem from bar fights or domestic disturbances. If you push someone in a bar, you may not realize the potentially severe criminal charges and penalties you may face. Furthermore, assault charges may result from simply putting someone in fear of harm, even if no physical contact actually occurred.
The attorneys at the Law Offices of Michael R. Corsello, LLC have extensive experience defending assault and battery charges in Connecticut. They know how to evaluate each individual case, advise you of your options, and work for the best possible outcome.
Assault and Battery Laws in Connecticut
The specific circumstances surrounding each assault and battery accusation are always extremely important and can significantly affect the outcome of your case. The severity of charges and penalties often depend on the identity of the victim, the type of physical contact or threat, whether any type of possible weapon was present, the severity of harm that occurred, the intent of the act and additional factors.
The Connecticut Penal Code divides assault offenses into different degrees, each with specific maximum penalties. The following are examples of assault laws:
Assault in the First Degree
The Class B felony offense of assault in the first degree is punishable by 5-20 years in jail and will likely be the charge if the state has sufficient reason to believe that a suspect:
- Used a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument to intentionally cause serious physical injury to another;
- Intentionally caused serious or permanent disfigurement, amputation, or disability;
- Causes serious physical injury by engaging in reckless behavior that creates risk of death to another person;
- Intentionally causes serious physical injury with the help of two or more other people; and
- Intentionally causes physical injury with a firearm.
Assault in the Second Degree
The Class D felony offense of assault in the second degree is punishable by 1-5 years in jail and will likely be the charge if the state believes that a suspect:
- Intended to cause serious injury;
- Causes injury with a dangerous weapon other than a firearm;
- Recklessly causes serious injury with a dangerous weapon; and
- Causes another person to consume drugs without their permission.
Assault in the Third Degree
The Class A misdemeanor offense of assault in the third degree is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and will likely be charged if prosecutors believe that a suspect:
- Intentionally caused injury;
- Recklessly caused serious injury; and
- Negligently caused injury using a dangerous weapon.
Additionally, penalties for the above offenses may increase if the alleged victim of the assault was pregnant, blind, elderly, or had an intellectual disability.
Contact a Qualified Fairfield Assault and Battery Attorney
Assault and battery cases may be very complex and involve many different factors. Michael R. Corsello knows how to provide the highest quality of representation and build an aggressive defense for your particular case and charges. Do not hesitate to contact the Law Offices of Michael R. Corsello, LLC at 203-838-7007 for help today. We proudly serve clients in the Fairfield, Norwalk, Westport, and Stamford areas.