Free Consultations | Se Habla Español


10 Byington Place, Norwalk, CT 06850

Top-Rated Norwalk, CT DUI Defense Law Firm

Helping Connecticut Residents Facing DUI Charges

Connecticut authorities take driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol very seriously and aggressively enforce DUI laws. Convicted DUI offenders and those arrested for DUI and fail a blood alcohol (BAC) test are subject to serious legal sanctions, including fines, probation, mandatory alcohol education, and even jail time. As a result, it is extremely important for anyone facing a Connecticut DUI case to consult with an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible after an arrest.

Ignition Interlock Devices in Connecticut

Among the more restrictive consequences an individual who is caught driving under the influence of alcohol may face includes the requirement that he or she only operates a vehicle in which a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) has been installed. These devices operate by requiring that drivers blow into the device before they can start the vehicle, and the device disables the vehicle if the driver’s blood alcohol content is above a certain threshold.

These devices can be very expensive to install and maintain, and sometimes offenders are unable to comply with the requirement simply due to cost. In addition, the BAIID requirement often comes after a mandatory license suspension period, which may not be lifted until the device is installed. Fortunately, an experienced Norwalk DUI attorney may be able to help you avoid the installation of an ignition interlock device or shorten the period of time that it must be installed on your vehicle.

Under What Circumstances Does an Ignition Interlock Device Need to be Installed?

Under state law anyone convicted of a DUI is limited to operating a vehicle in which an ignition interlock device is installed. Even drivers who are pulled over for DUI and fail a BAC test are required to install a BAIID system for six months. The length of time also depends on how many offenses a person has. If a person refuses to submit to a breathalyzer, the administrative penalties can result in a longer period of suspension. More specific information is detailed below.

  • 1st Offense – 45 day license suspension, followed by a one-year ignition interlock restriction period.
  • 2nd Offense – 45 day license suspension, followed by a three year ignition interlock restriction period. In addition, operation of a vehicle is limited to travel to or from work, school, an alcohol or drug abuse treatment program, or ignition interlock service center for the first year.
  • 3rd or Subsequent Offense – After a license revocation period of two years, an offender may only operate vehicles with an ignition interlock installed for as long as he or she drives. This restriction may be lifted after 15 years for good cause.

Restricted Driving Privileges for DUI Offenders

Individuals who have their driver’s licenses suspended after a DUI or chemical test refusal may be able to obtain restricted driving privileges in the form of a special operator’s permit. These permits are available for people who wish to drive to or from work or school, and in order to be eligible you may have to serve a certain portion of your suspension. The assistance of an attorney can be extremely helpful for people who are seeking to obtain limited driving privileges after a DUI-related suspension.

Contact a CT DUI Attorney Today

Connecticut criminal defense attorney Michael R. Corsello has over three decades of experience practicing in criminal defense law and has handled thousands of DUI cases. In addition to DUI matters, Mr. Corsello can help bring your criminal case to a favorable resolution whether your issue involves a minor traffic violation or crime of violence. He serves the communities of Norwalk, Westport, Stamford, Fairfield, as well as other communities across Connecticut. To schedule a consultation, contact the Law Offices of Michael R. Corsello, LLC at 203-838-7007 today.