Norwalk, CT Lawyer Defending People Accused of Marijuana Possession
Attorneys Committed to Marijuana Possession Defense in Norwalk, CT
Marijuana has been a part of American culture for decades, and several studies indicate that its use has gained widespread public acceptance across a range of demographic groups. Many states have recently relaxed their laws regarding the cultivation, possession, use, or sale of marijuana, with some jurisdictions going so far as to legalize limited recreational use. Connecticut is no exception to this trend, with medical marijuana use being legalized for people with certain debilitating conditions in the summer of 2012.
It is important to remember that despite this more permissive social and legal climate, the unauthorized possession of marijuana remains illegal under both state and federal law. If you are found in possession of marijuana without a valid medical marijuana registration certificate, you may be facing legal penalties including fines, probation, community service, or even the loss of your freedom. As a result, anyone accused of drug crimes in the state of Connecticut should be certain to discuss their case and options with an experienced Stamford criminal defense attorney.
Marijuana Possession in Connecticut
One of the most important factors that determine the civil or criminal penalties you face if you are accused of marijuana possession is the amount of marijuana you allegedly had. In addition, other issues such as whether there is evidence that you intended to distribute the marijuana or whether you were in a school zone may also come into play.
Below is some general information regarding some of the penalties associated with possession of different amounts of marijuana.
- Possession of less than one-half ounce can result in a fine of $150 for a first offense. For subsequent offenses, the amount of the potential fine increases to between $200 and $500, and 3rd time offenders must attend drug education at their own expense.
- Possession of at least one-half ounce but less than 4 ounces can result in a prison term of up to a year and/or a $1,000 fine. Subsequent offenses may result in a prison term of up to 5 years and/or a $3000 fine. If a person is in possession of this amount within 1,500 feet of a school (and not attending that school) or a licensed day care, they may be sentenced to a mandatory 2 year prison term that runs consecutively to any prison term imposed as a result of the possession itself.
- Possession of at least 4 ounces of marijuana can result in a prison term of 5 years or a fine of up to $2,000, or both. Subsequent offenses may result in a 10 year prison term or a $5,000 fine, or both. Again, if the possession occurs within 1,500 feet of a school by someone not attending the school or a licensed day care there is a mandatory 2 year prison term that will run consecutively with the sentence for the underlying offense.
Contact a Connecticut Marijuana Possession Attorney for Help Today
Attorney Michael R. Corsello is dedicated to defending individuals accused of marijuana possession. With 30 years of criminal defense experience, Mr. Corsello has the skill and experience required to effectively represent those accused of crimes. He provides each client he represents with the highest caliber of legal representation possible, and builds an aggressive defense tailored to the specific needs of your case. Call 203-838-7007 or email the Law Offices of Michael R. Corsello, LLC today to schedule a free consultation.